GO Champion Profile 1 : Liali Karra Hassan

Welcome to the Go Champion monthly profile review. 

Check back occasionally to read about some of the most inspiring women in our community using sport as a vehicle to create change in their own lives and in the community.

First up is Liali Karra-Hassan. An inspiring athlete from the heart of Auburn. We had the opportunity to catch up with her and find out more about what drives this woman! 

1. Tell us a bit about yourself (your interests, passions, hobbies, your profession/studies)

My name is Liali karra-Hassan. I'm 21 years old and I'm 1 of 6 children. I am passionate about physical activity and about my job as a personal trainer at Dolly's Bootcamp making lives better one session at a time. My hobbies include: weight training, AFL, trekking and any thing that's adventurous. I am a qualified Cert IV Personal Trainer and my goal in July is to study a degree in Exercise and Sport science.  

2. How did you get involved in your chosen sport/fitness activity 
 

My sister Amna is the co-founder of the women's AFL Auburn Giants team and I was encouraged to join the team. I have grown to love it because it allows me to challenge myself, keep fit and active and also meet like minded women from my community passionate about sport. 

3. How has being active had an impact on your life? 
 

I use exercise as an outlet to release any negative energy. When I am under pressure and stressed I use it to relax and focus on other things. It has taught me to be disciplined and has given me a healthy body and a healthier mind-set. 

4. Have you faced any barriers/challenges? how did you overcome them?

My family initially disapproved of my participation in sport and physical activity as it was seen to be culturally inappropriate. However when all my sisters  and I became heavily involved in sports and exercise my family saw the positive transformation it had made to our lives. We led by example and because positive role models for members of our family and members of our community. 

5. What is 1 sport/fitness related goal you have and how are you working toward achieving it?

My long term 2 year goal is to participate and complete the iron man triathlon. which is a marathon consisting of a 4km swim, 180km bicycle ride and a 42km run. To achieve this I'm planning to enter smaller scale triathlons, pick up my sprint training and weight training. 

6. Your advice to Muslim women/girls (in the context of getting involved in a sport and getting active)

Don't let anyone get in your way to do something you love. Be persistent and don't give up. Educate people on the benefits of your chosen activity so they too can create change in their lives. Lead by example and prepare to challenge stereotypes by being true to yourself. .